45 degrees off

Seeing the same thing from a different angle.

Four Little Ponies of the Apocalypse

Picture from RedBubble, where you can find the Four Little Ponies of the Apocalypse collection along with some of my other work.

I had an idea one day that should have sent me running to Google to see how many times it had already been done. I didn’t find out until I’d already finished the art that Robot Chicken had done an “Apocalypse Pony” skit that inspired many variations.

I’m still pleased with my work, though. In creating the Four Little Ponies of the Apocalypse, I spent a lot of time pouring over verses from Revelation I hadn’t paid much attention to before and reading papers on theological debates over interpretation. I learned that the only horseman who is named in the Bible is Death. And I learned that I’d never heard of Conquest because the popular interpretation is “Pestilence, War, Famine, and Death” and no one really seems to know why.

Each horseman is described as riding a horse of a specific color and having specific symbols associated with him. It was the symbols that gave me the idea – horses, symbols… ponies with little symbols stamped on their hindquarters. (I admit to loving those ponies when I was a girl, so a part of me will always look at a horse and wonder which My Little Pony it would be.) I stuck to the biblical descriptions, which is how I ended up going with the Conquest interpretation rather than Pestilence.

I understand why some people might be offended by this. I understand how easy it is to only see that someone is making fun of your beliefs and the scriptures you hold up as sacred. I will ask that you consider this before we agree to disagree (because I won’t say you have to change your mind): I was raised in a Christian family and do understand how sacred these scriptures are to many people all over the world. I put a lot of effort into sticking to the descriptions in the book of Revelation and studying the meanings of the symbols and colors. As a parody piece goes, I feel I have treated the religious source material with a great deal of respect. What you do with your reactions to my work is up to you. You can pray for me if you feel I’m a terribly misguided person. You can use this as an opportunity to discuss the book of Revelation in your Bible study groups. Really, it’s a book so many have trouble understanding, and I’ve heard the groans when someone says, “We’re going to study the book of Revelation this month.” Maybe you could start with, “I saw a parody piece on the internet the other day, and it got me thinking about some of the scripture in Revelation…” It might even make it easier for some people to remember those verses. It’s difficult to get those ponies back out of your mental image files.

Comments are closed.

